My Roadmap to Becoming a Data Analyst

Sam Vincent
4 min readNov 5, 2023

--

I’ve always been a firm believer in the power of roadmaps when it comes to learning new skills. Whether it’s picking up a musical instrument, mastering a new language, or diving into a complex software development project, roadmaps provide a clear and structured path to success.

What makes them so appealing to me is their ability to break down a daunting task into smaller, manageable milestones. This not only makes the learning process less overwhelming but also allows for a sense of accomplishment with each step completed.

So what was the first thing I did when deciding I wanted to become a data analyst? Create a roadmap of course! So these are the steps that I am taking to learn the necessary skills to become a Data Analyst.

1. Google Data Analyst Certificate

This is the starting point that was recommended by every YouTube video and blog I had seen when I decided I wanted to become a data analyst. This credential equips you with valuable skills and knowledge in data analysis, from data visualization to SQL queries.

It takes on average six-months to complete however the course is self-paced so you can complete it in a timeframe that suits you.

I personally chose it as my starting point of my roadmap as I wanted to have a broad insight into all areas of data analysis before focusing my attention to one particular skill.

2. Excel Skills

One of the main reasons that I was interested in pursuing a career as a Data Analyst is that the skills needed are extremely versatile and can be applied in most other job roles. These days it is very unlikely that you will find any office job where it isn’t a bonus to be an Excel wizard. So by getting good at Excel quickly it will enable me to not only gain a valuable skill for a Data Analyst, but also improve in my current role.

The two courses that I am going to complete are:

3. Data Visualization

Like Excel, PowerBI is a tool used day to day in my office job. A lot of people choose to use Tableau, another data visualization tool. However this is all up to personal preference. The Google Data Analyst Certificate uses Tableau to teach the basics of Data Visualization so you may decide you want to carry on with it. But here it is all about doing what makes sense to your circumstances, if the company you are working in uses one rather than the other, go for that one as you will be able to gain experience in using it. If you are currently in a company or job role that doesn’t use Data Visualization, look at local Data Analyst job adverts and see what most are looking for.

The course I am personally going to be using is:

4. SQL

SQL is a fundamental tool for data analysts because it provides the means to access, manipulate, and analyze data efficiently and effectively. It’s a crucial skill for anyone working with data in a professional capacity, and mastering SQL empowers data analysts to provide valuable insights and support informed decision-making within their organizations.

Google’s Data Analyst Certificate will have already touched on SQL, but to dive deeper the courses I will be taking are:

5. Python

Learning a programming language is essential for data scientists. It enables efficient data processing, custom algorithm development, and the handling of big and complex datasets. Moreover, it facilitates effective data communication through interactive visualizations and reports. In today’s job market, programming skills are highly sought after, making it a valuable investment in one’s career. So, for aspiring data scientists, mastering a programming language is not just a choice; it’s a necessary step toward success in the field.

This is another area where you can choose whether to use R or Python, I personally have chosen to learn Python but in the Google Data Analyst Certificate you are taught the basics of R.

The course I will be taking to learn Python is:

6. Practice!

They are the basic skills Data Analyst’s need however the ability to actually put them into use in different projects is what will get you a job. Once I have learnt these skills I will use them to create a portfolio that I can show employers. I will also be trying to put them into practice into my current job to gain invaluable experience.

--

--

Sam Vincent

Hi my name is Sam and I’m starting this blog to share my journey of becoming a self-taught Data Analyst.